top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarieMcGrath

Editing ... Edits. All of the things.

Happy Monday y'all! Another week has come and gone. It's crazy that this is the last week of July!!


I have made my first pass at my draft before it gets sent to betas. I'll be changing those edits on my computer draft after completing them by hand. I'm also down to the wire on edits from my editor!! Ahh! So crazy.


If you want to be an ARC reader for my second novel, The Fall Changes, check this link. They go out this weekend!! :) https://forms.gle/9cEhsEJnWBVU87vj9




But, editing is EXACTLY what I want to discuss today. Editing is hard. It feels isolated and no matter how many times you stare at the draft, things will pop up. But there are certainly things you can focus on and here are my top five!

  1. Delete words (or check their use) such as: just, very, really, that

  2. Check punctuation and capitalization around dialogue. Commas are used before dialogue tags, NO PERIODS, EVER! And speaking of dialogue tags ... sometimes less is more. Don't use fancy ones just because. It's okay to use said.

  3. Take out began to, started to, going to, etc and replace with stronger verbs. Many times you can just use the verb they "started to do". Unless they actually were interrupted in the act and couldn't complete it, then you don't need it.

  4. 4. Control F your problem words. Mine are was, well, nodded... See how many times you use them and then see where you can avoid it.

  5. Check your opening and closing lines in each chapter. Does it establish the scene and have emotional resonance? No? Then make it stronger.



There are PLENTY of other things to check when you edit, but these are certainly important. I hope you found these tips helpful! If so, which one was your favorite?


And are there topics you hope I'd cover? Let me know in the comments!!


This will be my only blog post this week, book reviews will start fresh again next Friday!

You all are awesome!

Always,

Marie

10 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page