top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarieMcGrath

Book Reviews - Summer Softball/Baseball books

This week I read two novels, Fast-Pitch Love by Clay Cormany and Out of My League by Sarah Sutton.


First at bat, is Fast-Pitch Love. I really enjoyed this book because it was told from the male POV instead of the girl, which was refreshing for a change. Most of the time summer romances are all the girl's perspective and it was nice to see what a guy thought in similar situations.


Jace, our main character is a cross-country runner, a big brother, and is head-over-heels in love with Stephanie Thornapple..... BUT she has a boyfriend, womp, womp. Not to mention he threatens any guy who dares to look at her much less talk to her. So when Jace finds out that Carson (her boyfriend) will be out of town for the summer, he has to find a way to get her to hang out with him.


He thinks his perfect chance is his mother's softball team, which includes his little sister, Phoebe. When he goes to copy the roster he notices the initials S.J. Thornapple, which he of course assumes is Stephanie and not her sister Sylvia.


With many twists and turns throughout, I was thoroughly happy with the ending. Check out my full review here:


My second novel this week was a homerun! (Sorry, I couldn't help but make the puns!) Out of My League is the second novel from author Sarah Sutton. After reading her debut, I was hesitant to agree with polls that said Sophia and Walsh would be my new favorite ... but you guys, you were right.


This book was amazing. First of all, who can't resist a guy in a baseball uniform?? Second, the trope of fake dating is one of my favorite because you get to see the two as a couple and realize how PERFECT they are through the whole book instead of only waiting until the end to see things like in most ya romances.


Sophia was so endearing and I connected with her on so many levels. I loved her wit and voice in the novel. It was perfect.


and.

WALSH.

What a dreamboat he is!

Seriously so perfect in all the ways. And without spoiling anything, the one scene late at night was so well done, that I literally GAPED at the book and speed read, then re-read the same scene. [If you've read, you know the scene. The one at 1 a.m. ;) ]


Here is the rest of my Goodreads review, you don't want to miss this book by Sarah:

I hope you enjoyed this baseball/softball YA romance book review blog post.


If you like what you see, check out these books. If you like my posts, join me Monday and Fridays every week. And above all leave a comment or like if you enjoy the content. It helps me know what you think.


Until next time.


Always,

Marie

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page